California Sexual Consent Age
|California Sexual Consent Age|
|Law: Sexual Consent Age|
|Info: Sexual Consent Age Info|
|Other California Laws:|
|Blood Donation Age|
|Civil Rights and Age Discrimination|
|Consent Age for Medical Procedures|
|Running for Office|
|Sexual Consent Age|
|Tattoos and Piercings|
California's age of consent is 18, for all acts of sexual intercourse. Three laws are in place, with identical force: Penal Code 261.5, regarding vaginal sex; Penal Code 286, regarding anal sex; and Penal Code 288a, regarding oral sex. For activities other than these, generally grouped as "lewd and lascivious acts", the age of consent is 14. (Penal Code 288)
In California, any person (of any age) who engages in sexual intercourse with a person under 18 is liable for civil penalties.
261.5. (a) Unlawful sexual intercourse is an act of sexual intercourse accomplished with a person who is not the spouse of the perpetrator, if the person is a minor. For the purposes of this section, a "minor" is a person under the age of 18 years and an "adult" is a person who is at least 18 years of age.
(b) Any person who engages in an act of unlawful sexual intercourse with a minor who is not more than three years older or three years younger than the perpetrator, is guilty of a misdemeanor.
(c) Any person who engages in an act of unlawful sexual intercourse with a minor who is more than three years younger than the perpetrator is guilty of either a misdemeanor or a felony, and shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year, or by imprisonment in the state prison. (d) Any person 21 years of age or older who engages in an act of unlawful sexual intercourse with a minor who is under 16 years of age is guilty of either a misdemeanor or a felony, and shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year, or by imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, or four years.